Iron lady of my home…

If being strong is a heavenly virtue, then there is no other Goddess who possess it as well as her. You can’t just put her out of the story. There is no “NO” in her dictionary. Whether it be things within her reach or not ,she would never give up without a try. Whether you be in trouble or pain, she would even come from the death bed to save you. Hungry to learn new things just as a toddler and always with the trend. Lively, lovely and scintillating , she is a power house of energy. I am talking about my grandma, the superwoman of my household.

She is ofcourse a home-maker. She is now in her sweet 75. Today, we only value paid jobs and never appreciate our mom’s who struggle to keep things intact at home. In her early days, she lead an enormous joint family as an elder in-law with such ease which we can’t even think about in this nuclear-family era.

She is an exceptional cook, who could not only manage to cook for a dozen in an hours time without any early notice but also have the art to feed their tummies and minds as well.In our backyard , she is taking care of a lively garden which supplies a lot to our kitchen. At this age , she is happy and willing to take care of as much as many toddlers. Her love for kids is so much that , me , my dad and my nephews all have felts the love in her warm arms.

She is a person who hates to depend on others and a person who supports everyone who leans on her. So much contented with her life, which always reflects on her face. Her ever glowing smile makes our day.

In my childhood, I have seen her fixing the fuse at the near by transformer during heavy rains, when there is no men at home. She could even fix a water pump and be that host carrying out farming over a hectare. Neighbours ran to her when somebody is sick as she is their local doctor who suggests what to do in a scene of uncertainty. Everyone in the home , sees her as a symbol of resistance.

4 years back, when grandpa was diagnosed with cancer, unfortunately she broke her arm at the same time. Trust me, I was so much bewildered to see her lifting and supporting grandpa with a broken arm. Even when she is sick, she will allow nobody to do her role, a woman of tremendous self-respect. She is very unhappy when she is sick or injured, she will strive so hard to get back to normal. A woman who gives a lot about being sound and healthy, who sees being dull and gloomy as a shame.

She wakes so early, do her prayers, wash herself, get dressed and marches to the church.After the holy mass, she have a lil chat with grandpa at his tomb in the cemetery. After being together in love for more than 50 years, she still share her dreams of him coming to visit her, which leaves me blushing.

Always up to date with current affairs, clean and well dressed, she is an idol of self confidence. For youngsters, an inspiration. She does nothing special, but does everything with immense love and dedication.

story of a priceless human being..

I have seen both young and old people telling that they are fed up with their lives and are happy to die. She is an antagonist to those with such opinions as she sees life as a gift and wants to waste nothing about it.

the sea of love

the sky of hope

like an old horse

always never done

warrior in the war

who never backs down

at the sight of loss

neither cries out

nor pulls out

smiles like 100 watts

never price her

or ever try her

that grew in fire

won’t fade in sun

I think its time to remember our moms and grandmoms who end up living a life without credits. Love them, care them & value them..

Dedicated to all moms !!

Love you ❤️

©2020 robusta

Published by Jimmy John

After a long term of boredom becoming a boredom. I think it's time to show up. A young lad who gave upon impressing people, instead loves to share, express and communicate those raw thoughts and vague imaginations with all readers, friends and folks.

65 thoughts on “Iron lady of my home…

  1. This is such a beautiful tribute to your grandmother. She looks like a very strong and beautiful woman. The photo of her with the baby smiling in her arms is perfect! Great Post!! Loved the poem!
    Dwight

    Liked by 9 people

    1. Thank you Sir. Its been an honour. She definitely is a great woman. So glad that you had that patience to read it in full. I am overwhelmed by your comment. Hoping you will be there to support in the future too. Warm regards. stay safe.

      Liked by 3 people

    2. Hi Jimmy,

      I agree with Dwight regarding your excellent post praising the strength and spirit of your indomitable grandmother. Reading your post also reminds me of my late grandmother and mother, both of whom I mention in my special eulogy-cum-memoir-cum-biography at https://soundeagle.wordpress.com/2019/08/31/khai-khim-for-always-and-beyond-goodbye/

      I would like to inform you that you might need to use a desktop or laptop computer with a large screen to view the rich multimedia contents available for heightening your multisensory enjoyment at my blog, which could be too powerful and feature-rich for iPad, iPhone, tablet or other portable devices to handle properly or adequately.

      You have done a sterling job in acknowledging your grandmother’s achievements and dedications. I am impressed by you.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hi Jimmy,

        Let’s go and do whatever errands await you. Later, when you have a large stretch of time to yourself to read and fully digest one or more of my posts, you will be much more ready to comment in a manner and quality commensurate with your spirit and intellect that I have come to admire in your own posts, and then we shall have some deep and meaningful exchanges at my multidisciplinary blog, which can potentially stimulate your mind and spur you to write even more impressive posts later on.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. What a lovely and all-encompassing tribute to your grandmother! This is possibly the most beautiful such tribute I’ve ever read, Jimmy John. Thank you for finding my blog, so I could find yours!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a lovely tribute to your grandma. It brought tears to my eyes. You are fortunate to have such a wonderful, powerful and, yet, graceful woman in your life, and she is so fortunate to have such a compassionate, brilliant and generous grandson! Beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do beleive that love is the one thing we’re capable of perceiving… that transcends dimensions of time and space. Maybe we should trust that, even if we can’t understand it yet.If i am doing something which you believe is good is just because of the love she shared with us. It’s my privilege to honour her. I am so glad that you could come across this whole thing and appreciate in such elite fashion. Thanks for reading and keep supporting. Regards 😊✌️

      Like

  4. This is a lovely tribute to a special lady! This month and year (4th August 2020th) would have been my grandmother’s 86th birthday. We lost her 12 years ago through Cancer and I miss her so much but made the most of the time I had with her whilst she was alive. May God bless your grandmother and mother – and may the great legacy they are leaving behind continue to live in through you and the generations to come! Blessings to you my brother! 😊🙏💛👊🎉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. She looks like my mother who is 66 now. She took care of my 8 month old nephew with her one hand broken similar to this 2 years back. He wants amma to hold him and cried a lot one day and with the help of me, she took hold of him with one hand like this. Now he is 3 years old and he still wants to sleep in her hand sometimes hearing her stories. Kid smiling and sleeping in your grandma’s hand seems similar to my mother holding our little kunjunni in hand 🤗💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg.. your story is even beautiful than mine. People have celebrated this post. It was one of my early post’s, but everyday i get a notification on this. So happy n pumped. My love to all moms😍✌️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started